Sunday, February 11, 2018

39 Books of The Old Testament

       The first five of the Old Testament books are grouped together as books of the law (Pentateuch); those from Joshua to Esther, inclusive, are historical books; Job, Psalms, Proverbs,
       Ecclesiastes, Song of Solomon and Lamentations are poetry; the sixteen remaining are prophecies, and are subdivided into greater and minor. The authorship and date of all of these books cannot be stated positively. It was long believed that Moses wrote the books of the law and that David was the sole author of Psalms, but some modern scholarship rejects both of these suppositions. While there is considerable evidence for assigning definite authors to some of the Old Testament writings, the authorship of many of the books is unknown. 
       Books of the Old Testament. The books of the Old Testament, thirty-nine in number, are as follows:
  1. Genesis
  2. Exodus
  3. Leviticus
  4. Numbers
  5. Deuteronomy
  6. Joshua
  7. Judges
  8. Ruth 
  9. I Samuel
  10. II Samuel
  11. I Kings 
  12. II Kings
  13. I Chronicles 
  14. II Chronicles
  15. Ezra
  16. Nehemiah
  17. Esther
  18. Job
  19. Psalms
  20. Proverbs
  21. Ecclesiastes
  22. Song of Solomon
  23. Isaiah
  24. Jeremiah
  25. Lamentations
  26. Ezekiel
  27. Daniel
  28. Hosea
  29. Joel
  30. Amos
  31. Obadiah
  32. Jonah
  33. Micah
  34. Nahum
  35. Habakkuk
  36. Zephaniah
  37. Haggai
  38. Zechariah
  39. Malachi

No comments:

Post a Comment